Meet Our Ambassadors


Jane
My name is Jane Polk! I moved Greenville with my husband in 2014 from Chattanooga, TN where we attended Covenant College. I grew up in rural northeast North Carolina, and grew up taking lessons at a steeplechase barn owned by an Irish amateur jockey. By the time I was 12, I had my own Thoroughbred: Bomb Site, a 15.2 hand rocket and recently retired graded stakes winner and Breeder's Cup nominee. "Bomber" and I foxhunted, competed on the Junior Steeplechase Circuit, and enjoyed countless hours on trails and beaches. We enjoyed 12 years together before he passed away in August 2016 from complications due to laminitis. Currently, I ride and compete a quirky gray Thoroughbred named Goose, and enjoy trail riding with my husband and his Belgian draft mare, Molly. I started training with Amy Nichols in January 2017, and enjoy attending clinics and taking lessons at every opportunity! I hope event Goose Training Level this competition year, and also compete in more jumper classes. I want to develop a keener eye to fences and a better grasp of dressage (never a strength of mine--or my horse's). All in all, I want to become a better rider and horsewoman--and Greenville has allowed me plenty of opportunity to do exactly that!
Rachael
 Hey, My name is Rachael Wood. I was born and raised in Greenville, SC. I’m 22 years old. I’ve competed through the Intermediate level in eventing. I teach lessons and do training rides on local horses. I am also in school full time to be a Veterinarian technician. I have three competition horses of my own right now. I also have a future competition horse who is 3 months old! I got my first pony when I was three years old. I grew up riding western. When I was around 9 years old I started taking jumping lessons at a hunter/Jumper barn. I joined pony club and fell in love with Eventing. I was competing prelim by the time I was 15. My horse is blind in his right eye so it wasn't till I was 20 that we decided he could go intermediate. I received my A rating in pony club when I was 19. This fall I hope to compete Standing Ovation in some international shows. I will also continue my thoroughbred’s education and start working with my foal more. Standing Ovation was donated to pony club on one condition that he went to only one rider. Several of us went out to try him and the owner chose me. He is 13 years old. He is a 17.2 hand Clydesdale/WB/TB. He is blind in his right eye and roars. I have taken him from the Novice level to the Intermediate level.
Spontaneous Adventure is a 17 hand Off the track thoroughbred. Maserati is a 17 hand off the track thoroughbred. 
Julia

My Name is Julia Armstrong. I am 17 years old and have been riding for 8 years. For those years, Penn’s Woods Stable, with Bill Payne, has been my second home. The past 4 years I have been at the barn every day, holidays and weekends included, spending 3 – 15 hours daily. I started showing 2 years ago on a small horse name Clancy, who helped me grow as a rider. When I outgrew him, I started looking for a horse to move up on. We came across Cooper, who we restarted due to surgery and rehab. Cooper is a bay, 16.2hh OTTB I got July 10th, 2016. We began competing locally, gradually growing in to multi-day shows. We qualified for 2017 junior medals in the PSJ, BRHJA, and SCHJA. I received 8th in the BRHJA, 3rd and Progressive Rider Jumper in the PSJ, and 2nd in the Palmetto Medal.

We are now jumping 3’6” and continue to grow and push for new goals. This year, we hope to qualify for A Show Medals, and successfully compete and place in jumper classics.